La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local Histroy & Genealogy Resources

Black River Falls Public Library
Jackson County History Room
222 Fillmore St.
Black River Falls, WI 54615
Phone: (715) 284-4112

Web Address: http://www.blackriverfallslibrary.org
Email: m.woods@wrlsweb.org
Hours:  Monday 1-8 p.m.; Tuesday-Friday 1-5 p.m.
Located in: Jackson County, Wisconsin
Return to Guide Index

Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material

Cemetery Indexes (Jackson County)
Census Materials
County Directories
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Clark County
      Eau Claire County
     Jackson County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper& Genealogical Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
Yearbooks

BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS 
Our online catalog can be searched by clicking on this link. Other libraries are a part of WRLSWeb, so you will find other libraries' holdings as well. Our holdings are also available on WISCAT.

We have a large collection of family histories, local histories, as well as the complete 1996 International Genealogical Index (IGI) and the complete 1998 Family History Catalog from the Mormon Library.
CEMETERY INDEXES (Jackson County)

We have cemetery indexes for Jackson County, but these may not be copied.

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Clark & Jackson Counties, 1891
Jackson County Veteran (2 vols.)

CENSUS
County Dates
Michigan--Federal Census 1820, 1830
Wisconsin--Federal Census 1840, 1850, 1860
Wisconsin--Federal Census (Jackson) 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920
Wisconsin--State Census (Jackson) 1855, 1860 (typewritten), 1905 (includes Iowa Co.)
COUNTY DIRECTORIES
Jackson Co. directories: 1938, 1964
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Jackson County
Place of Publication & Titles Dates  

Alma Center
   Alma Center Herald
   Alma Center News


1898-1899
1906-1933

Black River Falls
   Badger State Journal
   Banner Journal
   Friday Evening Post
   Jackson Co. Journal
   Wisconsin Independent


1867-1926
1926-1997
1891-1895
1889-1926
1872-1888
Melrose
   Melrose Chronicle

1896-1999

Merrillan
   Wisconsin Leader


1877-1929

Taylor
   Taylor Weekly Herald


1920-1931
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Other Counties
Place of Publication & Titles Dates
Clark County
   Humbird
     Humbird Enterprise


1904-1949

Eau Claire County
   Augusta
     Augusta Eagle
   Eau Claire
     Eau Claire Co. Herald
   Fairchild
     Fairchild Observer

 
1927

1953-1958

1905-1918

NEWSPAPER & GENEALOGICAL INDEXES


"Looking Back" series, 1990-present (published in Melrose Chronicle and Banner Journal)
Toddy Porath's biographical files
Toddy Porath's subject files

Melrose Chronicle and Banner Journal obituary index, 1953-present (will eventually go back to 1948)
Memorial card file & index


Manuscripts & Public Records Collections

Clark County
Naturalization & citizenship records, 1857-1952

Jackson County
Naturalization & citizenship records, 1853-1941
Probate records/general index, 1860-1979

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS
Also have the Atlas State of Minnesota (1874)
County Dates
Jackson County 1914, 1930-1933, 1946, 1953, 1960, 1964, 1968, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1982, 1985, 1988
We also have atlases of Jackson County for 1901, 1931, and a pictorial atlas, 1986.
 
VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
The following may not be copied:

Index to Jackson Co. deaths, 1876-1947
Index to Jackson Co. marriages, 1854-1946
Index to Jackson Co. births, 1876-1907
YEARBOOKS
Place & School Year Published
Black River Falls, Jackson Co., WI
   High School "The Breeze"

   Alumni Directory


1922-1924, 1926, 1935, 1937-present

1875-1950, 1875-1961, 1875-1980

 

Hixton, Jackson Co., WI
   High School

1948, 1957, 1961 
Melrose, Jackson Co., WI
   High School "Our Reveries"
 
Melrose-Mindoro, Jackson Co., WI
   High School "Hoofprints"

Mindoro, Jackson Co., WI
   High School "Coulee Echoes"

  

1955-1958, 1963, 1966

Last updated: June 2008

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.