La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
Hatch Public Library
111 W. State St.
Mauston, WI 53948
Phone: (608) 847-4454

Email: maustonpl@wrlsweb.org
Hours:  Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday 9 a.m.-8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Saturday 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Located in: Juneau County, Wisconsin
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material
Cemetery Indexes (Juneau County)
Census Materials
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Juneau County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
Yearbooks
 
BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
Prosser McCafferty bequest that includes biographical sketches, cemetery guides, family histories, abstracts, lists of marriages, births, and deaths from the 1700s on for many east coast states.

Family trees we have include: Wilcox, Van Hise, Thompson, Findysz, Gallagher, Rose, Reynolds, Ornson, Porter & Galvin, Armstrong, Bennett, Berrys, Ressler, Varvick (Zwaryski), Warvik, Greutzmacher, Howland, McClain, Kinast, Palmer, Thomas Rae & John Patton, Schriver, Severance & Spaulding, Schwedrsky, Coyer, Boesch, McNown, & Menown, Coleman, Byington, Hanns & Braund, Butts Aylesworth, Magerl & White, St. Claire & Judd, (Wolf) Zant, Treml, Milesian, Fisher Voight, Neville, Dungarvan, Scoville/Hale, Thompson, Fowler, Krueger Schultz, Schultz, Longdo, LaForge, Boehm, Boyle, Feldman, Pfiefer/Fiske, Fluno/Robinson, Garrigan/Kelley, Hamil, McGarty, Kieffer/Saunders, McGowan/Doyle, Powers, Voight, May, Walsh, John Anderson Onsager Family in Norway & America.

Juneau County church books, memories and directories, including a centennial booklet for St. Patrick's Catholic Church.
Return to Top
CEMETERY INDEXES (Juneau County)
We have cemetery books for Juneau County.

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Centennial booklets for Camp Douglas, Elroy, Lyndon Station, Necedah, New Lisbon and St. Patrick's Catholic Church.

CENSUS
County Dates Can Copy?
Wisconsin--Federal Census
Juneau County
1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930 yes
Wisconsin--State Census Juneau County 1855, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905 yes
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Juneau County
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

Elroy

Elroy Trail Committee Messenger

Messenger of Juneau Co.

 

1999-2005


2005-present

 

microfilm


microfilm, most current 2 years in paper

 

yes


yes

Mauston
Juneau Co. Chronicle


Juneau Co. Star Times

Mauston Star


1885-1890;
1892-1902;
1907-1979
1980-present

1857-1863;
1867-1979


microfilm


microfilm
most current 2 years in paper
microfilm

yes


yes
yes

yes

Wonewoc
Wonewoc Reporter


1891-1903

microfilm


yes

 

 

 Return to Top

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Juneau County State Graded Schools Teacher/Students lists; Declarations of intentions and petitions to become citizens of the USA;
Some military service records fo the War of 1812, Civil War, Spanish American War and World War veterans; St. Mary's Catholic Church (Lyndon Station) and St. Patrick's Catholic Church (Mauston) biographies, births, marriages and deaths.

NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Binders of indexed newspaper clippings and other assorted materials.
Various Juneau County obituary listings.

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS
County Dates
Juneau County 1898, 1914, 1964, 1970, 1972, 1984-1985, 1989, 1991, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2005
YEARBOOKS
Place & School Year Published
Mauston, Juneau Co., WI
High School

1916-1918, 1921-1925, 1927-1928, 1930, 1932-1942, 1943-1968, 1970-1978, 1980-1982, 1987-1991, 1995-2005

 Return to Top

Last updated: July 2008

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.