La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
Houston County Historical Society
104 History Lane
Caledonia, MN 55921
Phone: (507) 725-3884

Hours:  Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Additional hours: June-September Saturday & Sunday 1-4 p.m.
Also by appointment
Located in: Houston County, Minnesota
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material
Cemetery Indexes (Houston County)
Census Materials
City & County Directories
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Houston County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper Indexes
      Local Articles
      Obituaries & Other Genealogical Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
Yearbooks
 
BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
Index to Minnesota in the Civil & Indian Wars (microfiche); CANNOT be copied
A good selection of Houston County church histories and directories
Writings of Houston County authors, histories of some villages
"Index to the Luxembourger Gazette, 1870s-1918"
"Luxembourgers in the New World" v. 1& 2 by Nicholas Gonner
Return to Top

CEMETERY INDEXES (Houston County)
Houston County's 152 burial sites, stone recordings done in 1976 with some updated and some on computer; organized by township.
Also have Allamakee Co., IA, book
Winona County, MN, book
Winneshiek Co., IA, book
La Crescent, MN, Prospect Hill Cemetery original record books often giving date and place of birth and sometimes names of a relative.

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Histories of Houston County: 1882 (indexed), 1919 (biographical sketches indexed), 1982 (indexed); also have histories of some other counties and towns.

CENSUS
County Dates Can Copy?
Minnesota--Federal Census
Houston County
1850 (paper; whole state), 1860, 1870*, 1880, 1890#, 1900, 1910, 1920
* denotes index for Houston Co.
# denotes special veterans census
yes
Minnesota--State Census
Houston County
1857, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905 yes
CITY & COUNTY DIRECTORIES
Telephone directories, a variety from Houston and Fillmore Counties dating from 1911-2002
County directories: 1902 is the earliest and useful for located people in that time period.
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Houston County
We have microfilmed newspapers published in Houston County from 1855 to the present. The newspaper dates listed indicate our holdings in general. However, there may be some missing issues especially with pre-1900 newspapers. Please call or write if you have a specific date you'd like us to confirm.
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

Brownsville
Free Press News




Southern MN Herald
Western Progress


1865-1869
1899-1901 (3 issues)
1904
1906-1920
1855-1859
1869-1874

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

Caledonia
   Argus


   Journal







   Tribune


1888
1890-1940
1940-2004
1868-1872
1874-1884 (misc.)
1878-1879
1885-1886
1889-1899
1901
1902-1904
1906-1958
1897-1898

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm


yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

 

 

 Return to Top

Hokah
   Blade Chief






   Sun Tribune

1876-1877
1857-1862
1874-1884 (misc.)
1882-1938
1942-1945
1947-1948
1938-1949 (misc.)
1952-1953
1886-1899
1917-1925

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
paper

microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

yes
Houston
   Gazette & Co.    Journal
   Signal
   Banner
1976-1993
1882-1987
1999-2004

microfilm
microfilm
paper

yes
yes
yes
La Crescent
   Cooperator
   Echo
   Houston Co.       News
   Patrol
   Rural News
   Times
   Times-Hokah    Chief
   La Crescent
1891-1892
1963-1967
1968-2002
1888-1889
1986-1989
1950-1953
1954-1963
misc. titles, n.d.

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
Spring Grove
   Herald
1893-2004
microfilm

microfilm

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Public Records
Houston Co. Alien Registration Forms, 1918 (1 roll microfilm);
Houston Co. District Court Naturalizations, 1854-1943 (4 rolls microfilm);
Tax records 1861-1900 (personal property & real estate) on microfilm; 1901-present, organized by township; tax records before 1900 as well as samples every ten years (1900, 1910, etc.) are at the Minnesota Historical Society;
9 shoebox size boxes of tax receipts, 1863-1930;
Land records (microfilm):
   grantor indexes, 1854-1888
  grantee indexes, 1857-1888
  deeds, 1852-1919 (no mortgage records);
Probate & Will records:
  probate records index, 1860-1892
  probate records, nos. 1-2150, latest March 1917
  wills, 1884-1919 (each book indexed);
World War I Draft Registrations (microfilm).

Manuscripts--Church Records
Caledonia, Brownsville and Houston Episcopal Churches, 1864-1924;

Caledonia Presbyterian Church, 1859-1958;

German Lutheran Church at Brownsville (later United Church of Christ; currently Zion Evangelical Church) photostats; many records in German:
  baptism, 1863-1939
  marriage, 1870-1878
  burial, 1888-1939
  list of confirmands and communicants;

Hokah Presbyterian Church, 1868-1944; microfilm;

Hokah United Church of Christ (formerly Evangelical and Reformed; currently Community Church); photostats; some records in German; earliest record book, 1872-1892;

Hokah United Methodist Church (formerly German Methodist Episcopal; some records in German) original record books:
  baptism, 1881-1991
  marriage, 1882-1992
  death, 1919-1990, some earlier deaths in membership records
  membership lists beginning in 1858 (some records are from other churches on the circuit: Pine Creek, Crooked Creek and Union);

Hope Presbyterian Church, Union Township: (microfilm)
  session minutes and lists of members, 1894-1942;

La Crescent Presbyterian Church, 1859-1958 (microfilm);

Money Creek Baptist Church, 1854-1928 (mostly minutes; a few deaths)

Oak Ridge Lutheran Church (records in paper), 1895-1944; this is the church that was dismantled and rebuilt in Norway as an example of an immigrant church in America;

Sheldon Presbyterian Church, 1860-1963 (microfilm):
  session minutes and church registers;

South Ridge United Methodist Church (formerly Evangelical and United Brethren) photostats of earliest record book:
  baptism, 1940-1987
  marriage, 1897-1998
  burial, 1898-1990 (burial records contain early birth dates)
  membership and officer lists;

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America records, some in Norwegian, all on microfilm:
  Central Lutheran in Winona, 1873-1922; 1871-1917 (reel 73)
  Cedar Valley Lutheran in Houston, 1870-1945 (reel 73)
  Wilmington Lutheran, 1892-1917 (reel 73)
  Immanuel Lutheran in Caledonia (reel 73)
  Trinity Lutheran in Spring Grove, 1857-1861; 1891-1920 (reel 74); 1857-1861; 1891-1920 (reel 75)
  Faith Lutheran in Black Hammer (reel 74); 1895-1982 (reel 75); 1858-1881 (reel 76)
  Cross of Christ Lutheran in Houston, 1854-1917; 1862-1918 (reel 76)
  St. Peter's Lutheran in Houston, 1858-1910; 1851-1909 (reel 76); includes records of the Stone Church, the oldest Lutheran Church building in Minnesota
  Our Savior's Lutheran in Riceford, 1881-1981 (reel 76)
  La Crosse Pastoral Conference, 1870-1889 (reel 41)
  First Lutheran in Onalaska, 1870-1900 (reel 41);
  also many church records from Lutheran churches in Iowa and North Dakota.

Civil War Records of Houston County by David Klinski: 8 years of intensive research filed by township. These include veterans of War of 1812, Black Hawk War, Mexican War and Spanish American War as well as Civil War.

Photographs
16,000 photographs arranged by subject and by family collections (can copy or scan)
4660 negatives organized plus many more; many glass negatives

NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Vertical files are maintained for clippings, ephemera, genealogy & family history and obituaries. These are accessed through a card file; copy facilities available.

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS
Also have the Atlas State of Minnesota (1874)
County Dates
Allamakee County, IA 1917
Dodge County, MN 1937
Hennepin County, MN 1873, 1898, 1913 (on microfilm)
Houston County, MN 1878, 1896, 1931 and more from 1850-1994; 1871 wall map is earliest map showing land ownership; can provide copies of all.
On microfilm, we have 1878, 1896, 1931
Jackson County, MN 1887, 1914, 1936 (on microfilm)
Kandiyohi County, MN 1886, 1905, 1932 (on microfilm)
Kitson County, MN 1912 (on microfilm)
Olmsted County, MN 1970
VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
On microfilm:
  birth indexes, 1870-1939
  birth records, 1870-1917
  delayed birth records, 1939-1983 (3 reels; a few date to 1860s)
  death indexes, 1870-1982
  death records, 1870-1941
  marriage records, 1854-1917 (each book indexed)
YEARBOOKS
Place & School Year Published

Caledonia, Houston Co., MN
   Caledonia Elementary
   Caledonia High School


   Loretto High School (Catholic)
   Class Yearbook: 1930, 1939, 50 year    
class reunion
   1944-1994 (biographical)


2000
1908, 1912, 1924, 1940, 1942, 1947, 1954, 1956, 1959, 1961, 1963-1971, 1973-1976, 1981
1937, 1944, 1947
1994

 

Houston, Houston Co., MN
   High School
1955, 1976, 1987-88, 1991, 1999
La Crescent, Houston Co., MN
   Middle & High School "Lance"
1970, 1974, 1985-1989
Spring Grove, Houston Co., MN
   High School
1956
Last updated: Feb. 2005

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.