La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
Olmsted County Historical Society Library
1195 West Circle Dr. SW
Rochester, MN 55902
Phone: (507) 282-9447

Web Address: olmstedhistory.com
Email: ochs@olmstedhistory.com
Hours:  Tuesday-Saturday 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Located in: Olmsted County, Minnesota
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material
Cemetery Indexes (Olmsted County)
Census Materials
City & County Directories
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Olmsted County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper Indexes
      Local Articles
      Obituaries & Other Genealogical Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
Yearbooks
 
BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
Indexed local histories of Olmsted County
Extensive collection of books and peridocials on Minnesota history and the Civil War; complete collection of Minnesota legislative manuals
DAR lineage books
Savage and other genealogical resources
Biographical index to military resources at Olmsted County Historical Society Library
Return to Top

CEMETERY INDEXES (Olmsted County)
We have indexed transcripts from Olmsted, Mower, Wabasha & Winona counties (MN), and some from Dodge, Goodhue, Fillmore, & Houston counties.

We have indexed funeral home records from many Olmsted County undertakers and records of one funeral home in Pine Island, Goodhue County. We also have a scrapbook from Vine Funeral Home in Olmsted County that is indexed.

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Histories of 40 other Minnesota counties for surrounding counties
Biographical index to military resources at Olmsted County Historical Society Library.

CENSUS
County Dates Can Copy?
Minnesota--Federal Census 1850, 1860*, 1870 *, 1880#, 1900#, 1910, 1920#, 1930 (on order)
* denotes printed index
# denotes Soundex microfilm index
yes
 
Minnesota--State Census
1857*, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905
* denotes index (Olmsted Co. only)
yes
CITY & COUNTY DIRECTORIES
Rochester city directories, 1873-1993
Olmsted County directories

LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Olmsted County
The newspaper coverage is from 1859-present for the city of Rochester. We also have some microfilm of area newspapers: Byron, Chatfield, Dover, Elgin, Eyota, Pine Island, St. Charles and Stewartville.
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

Byron
   Byron Bulletin
   Byron Review


1913-1914
1868-1970

microfilm
microfilm

yes
Yes

Chatfield
Chatfield Democrat


1857-1902

microfilm







yes

 

 

 

Dover
Dover Independent

1906;
1908;
1941-1945

microfilm

yes
Elgin
Elgin Monitor
1904-1942 microfilm

yes
Eyota
Eyota Advertiser
1869-1878
(Ju-Dec 1876
   missing)
microfilm
yes
Pine Island
Pine Island Journal

Pine IslandRecord

1882-1885;
1890-1891
1891-1910

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
Renville
   Star Farmer
1917
 
microfilm

yes

Rochester
   Central Record
   Daily Post & Record
   Federal Union
   Minnesota Record
   Olmsted County Democrat
   Post & Record  Record & Union
   Rochester City News
   Rochester City Post
   Rochester Daily Bulletin
   Rochester News
   Rochester Post
   Rochester Post-Bulletin
   Rochester Republican

1871-1872
1899-1919
1871-1874
1872-1874
1886-1912
1899-1912
1877-1899
1859-1860
1859-1866
1887-1924
1859
1860-1899
1925-present

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
St. Charles
   St. Charles Herald
   St. Charles Times

1867-1974
1874-1882;
1891-1901

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
Stewartville
   Stewartville Star





   Stewartville Times

1893-1894;
1904-1915;
1918-1934;
(some missing
   issues)
1936-1976
1898-1906

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm


microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes


yes
yes

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Rochester city clerk's records, 1858-1958
Vertical files, pertaining to Rochester & Olmsted County, containing photographs, family histories, manuscripts, pamphlets, etc.
Wedding scrapbooks, 1934-1959 (indexed)

Church Records
Immanuel Lutheran Church Records (Potsdam, MN) (indexed)

Photographs
Cutshall photography collection [first 40,000 of approximately 65,000 are indexed]
Hoffman photo collection (not indexed)

Probate Records
Indexed probate & guardianship records from Olmsted County, 1864-mid 1950s

War Information
World War II service information sheets for Olmsted County (indexed)
Draft registrations for World War I for Minnesota (whole state)

NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Index 1859-1912 of early Rochester newspapers
Biographical index to miscellaneous sources
Obituary index to the Rochester Post-Bulletin, 1979-present

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS
County Dates
Olmsted 1877, 1896, 1964, 1973, 1978, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1989, 1993
We have some plat maps for surrounding counties.

We also have Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Rochester for 1899, 1904, 1914, 1920, 1928.
VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
We have vital records from:
City of Rochester birth & death, 1871-1940 (indexed)
Olmsted County
   Births, 1871-1930 (indexed)
  Marriages, 1856-1955
  Deaths, 1871-1997 (missing mid 1992-mid 1994)

Other Minnesota counties for which we have birth, marriage & death records include:
Blue Earth
Carver
Dodge
Fillmore
Freeborn
Goodhue
Jackson
Mower
Nicollet
Pipestone
Rice
Scott
Steele
Wabasha
Waseca
Winona

Iowa counties for which we have birth, marriage & death records include:
Allamakee
Howard
Mitchell
Winneshiek
YEARBOOKS
Place & School Year Published
Rochester, Olmsted Co., MN
   High Schools
     Century
     Lourdes (Catholic)

     Mayo

     Rochester

   Post-Secondary
     Rochester Junior College
        (later Rochester Community College)



1998-present
1946-1994 (some issues missing)
1967-present (missing 1987, 1988, 1992)
1914-present (some earlier issues)

1928-1984

 

Last updated: April 2002

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.