La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
Rochester Public Library
101 Second St. SE
Rochester, MN 55904
Phone: (507) 285-8002

Web Address: http://www.rochesterpubliclibrary.org/
Email: louise@rochester.lib.mn.us
Hours:  Monday-Thursday 9:30 a.m.-9 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 9:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Summer Saturdays 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Located in: Olmsted County, Minnesota
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books, Online Indexes & Published Materials
Cemetery Indexes (Olmsted County)
Census Materials
City & County Directories
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Olmsted County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
 
BOOKS, ONLINE INDEXES & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
The Genealogy Collection consists of basic sources for those tracing their family tree.

We also have online subscriptions to AncestryPlus (Ancestry.com) and Heritage Quest's (ProQuest's) Genealogy & Local History Online. These indexes incorporate many regions and genealogical databases, including online access to federal census images for all states.
Return to Top

CEMETERY INDEXES (Olmsted County)
We have Olmsted County, MN, cemetery inscriptions.

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

We have Olmsted County histories 1883 & 1910.

We have county histories for southern Minnesota counties (Wabasha, Winona, Goodhue, Rice, Mower, Faribault, Steele & Dakota).

CENSUS

County Dates Can Copy?
Minnesota--Federal Census Olmsted County 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920 yes
Minnesota--State Census Olmsted County 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905 yes
CITY & COUNTY DIRECTORIES
Rochester city directories are available for 1896-present. We also have rural resident directories, 1976-1986.
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Olmsted County
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

Rochester
   Agri-News
   Business Today
   Post-Bulletin
   Successful Business


1976-present
1985-1988
1899-present
1989-1993

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Olmsted County Naturalization Records, 1856-1957 on microfilm
NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Post-Bulletin personals index (births, marriages & deaths), 1984-present

Also Rochester history in pamphlet file

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS

Olmsted County 1928, 1956, 1965-present

We also have Rochester Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (1884-1928) on microfilm.

Last updated: April 2002

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.