La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Special Collections & Area Research Center
McIntyre Library
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 4004
Location: 105 Garfield Ave.
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Phone: (715) 836-2739

Web Address: http://www.uwec.edu/library/archives/index.htm
Email: Library.Archives@uwec.edu
Hours:  Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Call ahead to confirm hours during semester breaks
Located in: Eau Claire County, Wisconsin
UW-Eau Claire ARC covers the territory of Buffalo Co., Wisconsin, as well as Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Rusk & Taylor Cos., Wisconsin
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Cemetery Indexes (Buffalo County)
Census Materials
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Buffalo County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
 

CEMETERY INDEXES (Buffalo County)
A guide is available to the church and cemetery records we have.

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Consult the library catalog for the most up-to-date list.

CENSUS

These are located in the microfilm area of the Government Documents Department in the basement of UW-La Crosse's Murphy Library. For hours, call (608) 785-8808 or check the library's web site at: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/.

County Dates Can Copy?
Wisconsin--Federal Census Buffalo County 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890*, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930
* denotes special census of Union veterans & their widows
yes
Wisconsin--State Census Buffalo County 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905 yes
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Buffalo County
We have microfilmed newspapers published in the city of La Crosse from 1853-present. These are located in the microfilm area of the newspaper area on the first floor of Murphy Library. They will also be found in the library catalog. The major ones are:
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

Alma
   Buffalo County Journal


1912-1914

microfilm

yes

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Search Arcat for manuscript & public records for collections related to any manuscript or public record collection.

Buffalo County
Agriculture
Agricultural & dairy statistics, 1874-1905 (Buffalo Series 11)
Annual enumeration of farm statistics by assessors, 1924-1960

Board of Supervisors' Records
Printed proceedings of the County Board of Supervisors, 1899-1969 (Buffalo Series 1)
Probate case files and indexes, 1854-1901 (Buffalo Series 15)
Supervisor of Assessments' annual statistical reports, 1913-1979 (Buffalo Series 2)

Land Records
Deeds and indexes, 1854-1964
Land sale and homestead records, 1856-1890 (Buffalo Series 14)

Naturalization Records
Naturalization records, 1853-1950 (Buffalo Series 17)

School Records
Glencoe School District 1: records, 1892-1898 (Buffalo Small Series 3)
Glencoe School District 1: treasurer's book, 1867-1952 (Buffalo Small Series 4)
Montana School District 5: Hansen school records, 1923-1955 (Buffalo Small Series 5)

Tax, Income & Property Assessment
Assessment records, 1855-1906 (Buffalo Series 13)
Assessment rolls, 1858-1865 (Buffalo Series 7)
Income tax assessment roll, 1915-1928 (Buffalo Series 6)
Income tax rolls, 1928-1933 (Buffalo Series 4)
Tax rolls, 1856-1870 (Buffalo Series 8)
Tax sale books, 1857-1885 (Buffalo Series 12)

Other
Annual directories of public officials, 1975-present (Buffalo Series 3)
County court calendars, 1900-1915 (Buffalo Small Series 2)
Dance hall & marriage license records, 1937-1945 (Buffalo Series 10)

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS

Consult the staff for exact counties and dates.

VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
Index to Pre-1907 Wisconsin Births, Marriages & Deaths (microfiche)
We also have the actual registers/certificates for Buffalo County that go with this index on microfilm.
Last updated: Nov. 2002

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.