La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Special Collections & Area Research Center
Murphy Library
1631 Pine St.
La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone: (608) 785-8511

Web Address: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/Departments/archome.html
Email: specoll@uwlax.edu
Hours:  Academic Year:  Monday-Friday 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Wednesday also 7-9 p.m.
Saturday 1-4 p.m.
Summer Session & School Breaks: Call ahead
It's always a good idea to call ahead to check open hours!
Located in: La Crosse County, Wisconsin
UW-La Crosse ARC covers the territory of Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau & Vernon Counties, Wisconsin
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material
Cemetery Indexes
Census Materials
City & County Directories
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      La Crosse County
      Monroe County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
Yearbooks
 
BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
You can search our online catalog for all of our book holdings: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/. We have among our cataloged book collection such items as village, town, city and counties history, for places throughout Wisconsin. Our Wisconiana collection of printed materials totals over 6,000 volumes.
Return to Top

CEMETERY INDEXES (La Crosse County)
Jackson Co. cemetery index (books)
Monroe Co. cemetery index (microfiche)
Trempealeau Co. cemetery index (book).

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

You can search our online catalog for all of our book holdings: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/. We have among our cataloged book collection such items as village, town, city and counties history, for places throughout Wisconsin. Our Wisconiana collection of printed materials totals over 6,000 volumes.

Specifically we have county histories for Jackson Co., 1891, 1976;
La Crosse Co., 1881, 1892, 1907;
Monroe Co., 1892, 1912, 1984;
Trempealeau Co., 1892, 1917;
Vernon Co., 1884.

CENSUS

These are located in the microfilm area of the Government Documents Department in the basement of UW-La Crosse's Murphy Library. For hours, call (608) 785-8808 or check the library's web site at: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/.

County Dates Can Copy?
Wisconsin--Federal Census 1840, 1850*, 1880#, 1900
* denotes indexed
# denotes Soundex microfilm index
yes
Wisconsin--Federal Census all counties EXCEPT those beginning with the letters A-F 1860 yes
Wisconsin--Federal Census
Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau & Vernon Cos.
1870 yes
There is a separate microfilmed index for the U.S. Census, 1830-1870. This is arranged first by census year, then alphabetically by names of persons. This is a filmed copy of index cards in green boxes.
Wisconsin--Territorial Census 1836, 1838, 1842, 1846, 1847 yes
 
Wisconsin--State Census 1855, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905#
# denotes microfilm index
yes
CITY & COUNTY DIRECTORIES
We have an extensive set of La Crosse city directories. We also have business gazetteers for Wisconsin.
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in La Crosse County
We have microfilmed newspapers published in the city of La Crosse from 1853-present. These are located in the microfilm area of the newspaper area on the first floor of Murphy Library. They will also be found in the library catalog. The major ones are:
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

La Crosse

Chronicle
Daily Liberal Democrat
Daily Republican

Democrat

La Crosse Tribune
Republican & Leader



1879-1906
1872-1878
1859-1860;
1866-1870
1853-1854;
1861-1868
1904-present
1871-1903


microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm


yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

Onalaska
La Crosse Co. Record
Onalaska Record Times


1885-1952
1952-1969

microfilm
microfilm








yes
yes

 

 

 

LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Monroe County
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?
Sparta
   Monroe County Democrat
   Sparta Herald

Tomah
   Tomah Journal
   Tomah Monitor-Herald

1886-1895
1861-1862;
1869-1886
1907-1916
1907-1912;
1914-1916

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Photographs
Our photographic place files include pictures for over 1,000 Wisconsin cities and villages, and we have a very comprehensive collection of La Crosse area photos that include individual people, organizations, businesses, etc. We also have one of largest steamboat and inland boat photo collections.

Manuscripts
We have over 300 linear feet of manuscript collections and over 450 feet of public records of possible value to genealogists. Examples include certain school districts; county court, clerk, tax sale and treasurer records; and papers of businesses, organizations, and individuals. Search Arcat for manuscript & public records for collections related to any manuscript or public record collection.

Public Records
Jackson County
Register in probate; index, 1869-1985
Naturalization records, 1853-1963
Tax rolls, 1857-1940, 1960-1975 (microfilm)
Circuit Court:
  Criminal case files, 1877-1920.

La Crosse County
Register in probate, record of wills, 1866-1901
Register in probate, record of deeds, 1851-1886
Probate case files, 1851-1876
Grantor/Grantee (land records) indexes, 1851-1857
Naturalization records, 1846-1955
Tax & assessment rolls, 1853-1950 (intermittent)*
La Crosse city tax rolls & assessment, 1857-1918
Circuit Court:
  Record volumes, 1896-1965
  Minute books, 1862-1974
  Court commissioners dockets, 1916-1926.

Monroe County
Register of deeds, 1851-1889
Grantor/Grantee (land record) indexes, 1851-1889
Probate index, 1867, 1980
Probate record books, 1867-1901
Naturalization records, 1854-1946
Circuit Court:
  Civil case files, 1855-1937 (57 cubic ft.); index available on CD
  Criminal case files, 1855-1932 (10 cubic ft.)

Trempealeau County
Tax rolls, 1856-1930 (intermittent)*
Register of deeds, mortgage records, 1855-1884
Probate case files, 1855-1985
Circuit Court:
  Civil case files, ca. 1866-1910 (file numbers 1-1535; 15 cubic ft.)
  Criminal case files, ca. 1890-1910 (file numbers 1-229; 3 cubic ft.)
  Minute books, 1856-1912.

Vernon County
Probate case files and index, 1850-1987
County tax rolls, 1859-1960 (intermittent)*
Naturalization records, 1853-1947
Circuit Court:
  Record books, 1878-1936 (7 vols.)
  Criminal record books, 1880-1952 (3 vols.)
  Minute books, 1859-1934 (4 vols.).

*For county tax rolls, every year available is kept until circa 1900; then generally every fifth or tenth year after that is kept.

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS

We have approximately 500 maps and other county plat books. You can search our online catalog for plat book holdings: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/. Ask about our individual map holdings.

County Dates
Jackson County 1900-present
La Crosse County 1906-present; also plat maps 1874 & 1890
Monroe County 1897-present; also a plat map 1877
Trempealeau County 1901-present; also a plat map 1877
Vernon County 1915-present
VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
The Archives has the following indexes on microfiche. These were produced by the State Bureau of Vital Statistics:

Index to Wisconsin Births, pre-1907
Index to Wisconsin Marriages, pre-1907
Index to Wisconsin Deaths, pre-1907
Pre-1907 registers/certificates of Wisconsin births, marriages and deaths for Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau and Vernon counties on microfilm.
YEARBOOKS
You can search our online catalog for all of our book holdings: www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/. We have some school yearbooks, including a complete set of La Crosse State Teacher's College (later called La Crosse State Normal School and now called University of Wisconsin-La Crosse).
Last updated: April 2002

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.