La Crosse Public Library Home Site Index Ask a Librarian

Guide to Local History & Genealogy Resources

 
Winona County Historical Society
160 Johnson St.
Winona, MN 55987
Phone: (507) 454-2723

Web Address: www.winona.msus.edu/historicalsociety
Email: archives@hbci.com
Hours:  Monday-Friday 10 a.m.-noon; 1-5 p.m.
Located in: Winona County, Minnesota

There is a $3 charge for non-members to visit the Archives.
Return to Guide Index
Local History & Genealogy Materials Available Include the Following Types of Material. Click on a heading for more specific information about that subject.

Books & Published Material
Cemetery Indexes (Winona County)
Census Materials
City & County Directories
County Histories & Biographical Sketches
Local Newspapers
      Winona County
Manuscripts & Public Record Collections
Newspaper Indexes
      Obituaries & Other Genealogical Indexes
Plat Maps & Books
Vital Records Indexes
Yearbooks
 
BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED MATERIALS
family histories
biographical/genealogical files
historical file
Return to Top

CEMETERY INDEXES (Winona County)
Index of cemeteries in Winona County (compiled in the late 1970s; have records of deaths since that time)

Return to Top

COUNTY HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Winona County histories and biographical sketches, 1883, 1895, 1913

CENSUS
County Dates Can Copy?
Minnesota--Federal Census Winona County 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920 yes
 
Minnesota--State Census
   Winona County
1857-1905 yes
CITY & COUNTY DIRECTORIES
Winona city directories 1866-present
Winona (city) telephone books, 1914-present
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS -- Published in Winona County
Place of Publication & Titles Dates Format Can Copy?

Lewiston
   Lewiston Journal


1981-present

microfilm

yes

St. Charles
   Inter-County Press
   St. Charles Press
   St. Charles Union


1922-1938
1939-1995
1877-1919

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm






yes
yes
yes

 

 

 

Winona
   Daily News
   Daily Republican
   Independent  Post & Shopper
   Republican Herald
   Weekly & Daily Herald
   Weekly Republican

1954-present
1860-1901
1979-present
1901-1954
1869-1901
1867-1880

microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm
microfilm

yes
yes
yes
yes
yes
yes

MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC RECORDS COLLECTIONS

Photograph collection
Church records of Cedar Valley Lutheran Church (Winona Co.) on microfilm

NEWSPAPER INDEXES
Winona County newspaper obituary file
Birth, marriage and death index from Winona newspapers, 1860-1915; more recent in progress
St. Charles newspaper obituary index
Individual obituaries cost $3 each

PLAT MAPS & BOOKS
County Dates
Winona County 1867, 1894, 1914, 1927, 1957, 1982
Winona City 1894, 1917
We also have a subscription to the digital Sanborn Insurance Maps for Minnesota.
VITAL RECORDS INDEXES
Winona County births and death records, 1870-1929 (on microfilm)
Marriage licenses 1854-1940
Copies of marriage certificates are $3 each
YEARBOOKS
Place & School Year Published
Lewiston, Winona Co., MN
   High School "Cardinal"

1914-; some 1940s, 1953-1983

 

Winona, Winona Co., MN
   High Schools
     Cotter
     Winona "Radiograph"

   Post-Secondary
     College of St. Theresa "Aldine"
     St. Mary's College "Redmen"
     Winona State "Wenonah"


1949
1906, 1913-1956, 1968


1912, 1926-1928, 1958, 1959
1947
1913-1950 (most yrs)
Last updated: March 2002

 

 


Home | Library Catalog | Read Watch or Listen | Research & Reference | Calendar of Events | Children's | Teen Connection | Local History & Genealogy| La Crosse Area Community | About the Libraries | Site Index

Main Library North Community Library South Community Library
800 Main Street 1552 Kane Street 1307 S. 16th Street
La Crosse, WI 54601 La Crosse, WI 54603 La Crosse, WI 54601
608-789-7100 608-789-7102 608-789-7103
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m.- 9 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m. Monday-Wednesday 12-8 p.m.
Friday-Saturday   9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday-Saturday    10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 p.m.